top of page
Création

Creation

Vibrationism

      At the start of my career, I was a landscape painter. In 1983, while painting outside in a fairly cold weather, my hand trembled and I placed a few brush strokes in the wrong places, producing a vibrating effect. During the next five years, I accentuated this effect and thus created "vibrationism".

François Faucher

1983

Beginning of the subject's peripheral deformation

François Faucher distorts the subject matter at its periphery and creates a vibrating effect that is present in various ways in each paintings. The brush-stroke changes and thus affects the subject matter.

1986

Subject distortion

himself

Introduction of filiform figures. François Faucher introduces a second degree of distorsion in vibrationism, which consists in deforming the subject matter itself.

1988

Adding detached elements

François Faucher adds forms that are detached from the figures or the objects. These forms are painted while respecting balance of the subject matter and the global composition of the painting.

Définition

Definition

Vibrationism is defined as an art form which consists in giving the observer the impression that the painting he is looking at is vibrating. This style, characterized by the effects of shaking and vibration, is created by the peripheral distortion of the subject and the addition of loose elements. The use of appropriate colors and materials also helps to give this vibrating effect.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Évolution

Evolution

From 1976 to today

fabrication d'une oeuvre

Making a work

Vue par les critique d'art

Seen by different art critics

Isabelle Gauthier

Danse chromatique François Faucher

Magazin’Art, June 2017, p.48-51

Montreal, Qc.

Like a lyrical flight, François Faucher's canvases are distinguished by their pigmentary intensity and the spatial organization of the figurative elements. One of a kind, the resolutely sprightly work seems to have its own musical background. This connection with musical art is explained by the technique invented by the artist to incorporate a vibratory effect into the elements of the painting. The resulting atmosphere is one of movement, of living warmth.

Solange Rilos Letourneur

Founder and President of "Organisation de la musique en entreprise"

Text of ome-musique.com 2016

Versailles, France

The OME officially recognizes François Faucher's "vibrationism".

For the Quebec painter François Faucher, a trained violinist, music offers new motifs that the artist never tires of painting and which allow him to renew his painting, by developing and broadening his fields of research, by exploring a new artistic field: "vibrationism".

On the canvas, eighth notes, trills and harmonics punctuate François Faucher's round or square keys, commas and glazes. Few artist painters have a feeling for musical things like him. His independence of mind combined with his technique make the sound of life both soothing and powerful.

Music and painting go hand in hand here, modeled on the concerts and recitals he so often performs. Modeled by the virtuosity of the soloist or the orchestra, the music provides the artist, in perpetual quest for ideas and new ways of approaching painting, material for many subjects, musicians are for him an inexhaustible treasure.

His paintings always bear witness to research into the effects of sound, while being strongly marked by work on the contrast of colors. Many art critics got it right, showering praise on his works.

The OME chose François Faucher to represent it pictorially because his palette is second to none for capturing sounds and vibrations, mixed in a real energy to be diffused by the music in "harmony" with the painting.

The OME gives itself the capacity to make companies recognize the vibrationism of François Faucher.

We choose François Faucher as "official painter" of the OME.

Dominic Villeneuve

François Faucher Quand le mouvement du vibrationnisme rencontre

la liberté de l’abstraction

Magazin’Art, Fall 2013, p.42-44

Montreal, Qc.

[...] the instigator of the vibrationist current is revealed with abstract works and it is clear that his distinctive signature is still there.[…] In addition to vibrationism, one constant remains in François Faucher's work of figuration or abstraction: the use of warm, comforting colors. The art lover immediately feels enveloped in subtle lighting, while plays of light and shadow "vibrate" before his eyes, accentuated by the relief of the oil painting.

Jean-Louis Avril

Zoom sur l’imaginaire du peintre François Faucher

Univers des arts, July 2012, p.2

Paris, France

Under the gaze of the spectator, the canvas enters in osmosis under the bursting light and the allegorical distortion of his favorite theme: the musical universe, the musicians, their instruments, disarticulated to the fortissimo rhythm of a humor as sensitive as it is jubilant.

Sylvie Laberge

François Faucher Vibrations positives

Sofadéco, Hors Série 2012,  p.244-245

Quebec, Qc.

His style, which he called "vibrationism", is not inspired by any other technique. The features are bold, straight, black and… vibrant! The characters are simple but expressive, and the colors, warm, lively and brilliantly applied. They produce an impression of smoldering fire.

Geoffroy Dalle

François Faucher et le vibrationnisme

Magazin’Art, Spring 2006, p.116-119

Montreal, Qc.

Color, movement, heat, emotion, passion, vibrations! These few words describe the state of mind with which François Faucher approaches a painting. These same words also sum up for him the essence of vibrationism, a technique he discovered while painting outdoors on a very cold day.

Jules Arbec

Espaces vibratoires

Parcours, Spring 2001, p.39-41

Montreal, Qc.

The movement is the starting point and the driving force of his whole process. While some artists borrow the forms and objects they will represent from their immediate environment, Faucher first draws from his imagination the various elements that will animate his pictorial space. His creative intervention is located in this passage from the imaginary to reality.

Rosette Pipar

L’univers vibrant de François Faucher…

Le Collectionneur, May 1996, p.32–36

Montreal, Qc.

While the first glance confirms an impression of hypnotizing movement generated by the burst of color, we nevertheless recognize the soul of the architect behind it. The whole is constructed by the application of large touches of color and further joins the spirit of the Impressionists, letting the expressive soul of the subject shine through, prompting him to escape and escape from his pure form. Astonishing contrasts, obtained by a certain gesture which, at first glance, may seem a little brutal, compete with daring and permeate the entire canvas with an aerial breath, giving it a life whose palpitations dance to excess.

Raymond Bernatchez

François Faucher : Des tableaux… much music

La Presse, May 14, 1994, p.E7

Montreal, Qc.

Defining vibrationism, and therefore its manner, is not easy. These works contain both elements of figuration (his subjects are inspired by the people and objects that are part of his living environment) but they fit into an abstract context [...] the outlines of the characters and objects being not only blurry but distorted as could be a television picture if the waves were scrambled by any electromagnetic phenomenon. The still image seems to vibrate indeed and the superposition as well as the juxtaposition of the colors obviously have something to do with it. Faucher textures the surface with a spatula and then applies his colors in "patches" using a brush.

Paul Gladu

François Faucher : Un temps fort de la peinture

Magazin’Art, Fall 1993, p.70-72

Montreal, Qc.

Faucher's works are recognizable by his tendency to distort forms in a very particular way. Sometimes they are elongated, sometimes shortened, often cut and blurry. This very personal vision has an interesting source. Once, while painting outdoors in winter, her hand was shaking and the resulting image suggested some type of transposition. Since then, he reproduces this effect which he calls vibrationism inside in the heat.

Jorge Santiago

Francois Faucher : A painter of incandescent joyfulness

Artspeak, October 1993, p.5

New York, NY

Faucher […] refers to his style as vibrationism, and the name is appropriate indeed : He creates the actual sense of a vibration through the chromatic vibrancy of his colors, especially when he adds a quality of incandescence by illuminating his scenes with candlelight [...] Figure and objects are strongly stylized in Faucher's bluntly simplified manner and stray particles of pigment floating in the air, like confetti, lend the picture a sense of decomposition, as though matter is slightly fragmented by memory.

Alexandra Shaw

The whimsical, lyrical works of Francois Faucher

Manhattan Arts International, Summer 1993, p.12

New York, NY

Lyrical and whimsical, Faucher's paintings erupt with an evanescent shimmer of fragmented shapes. In these works, boundaries are shattered and the universe is composed of a mass of rainbow colored vibrations. Painting is magically transformed into an intricate cerebral dance. The paintings often capture an otherwise ordinary moment in time, with extraordinary visual delight and humor [...] An innovator, François Faucher has taken the philosophy of the Impressionists and expanded upon it with greater excitement and passion.

Palmer Poroner

Francois Faucher presents his “Vibrationism” to New York

Artspeak, Summer 1993, p.3

New York, NY

Faucher presents a figurative image, but one never thinks of them as figure or abstraction. They are images out of his mind. He does not take images from life and then abstract or edit out the nonessentials. He begins with a simple image that represents a spirit or mood and then expresses it directly out of his feeling. These images are the emotional version of reality. What François Faucher sees in life is his own boundless energy. He supercharges his figures or still lifes so that they appear transfigured. 

Patrick Loze

François Faucher : De la structure au « vibrationnisme »

Magazine Parcours, Summer 1992, p.54

Montreal, Qc.

At the start of his artistic career, he shut himself up for three years, cutting himself off from almost everything until the limit of closed retirement and he strove to try to distinguish his style from all known trends, by vibrationism, which would thus have been born in 1983. […] The result will be a very strong effect of vibration resulting from the work on the form and the color.[...] "Vibrationism is first and foremost the expression of general movement through the harmony it creates."[…] The work of François Faucher is not one of provocation. His personal goal is to communicate, to convey his emotions.

Jacques de Roussan, a.i.c.a.

François Faucher : Vibrationnisme

Montreal, Qc.

Light reigns supreme in the work of François Faucher. In several aspects. Vibrations everywhere, both in color and in form. An objective as well as subjective palpitation of the elements of the painting. The background is more than a support, it is an integral part of the composition. A chromatic and formal flow, underlined by the intensity of the figures, floral arrangements and still lifes. Expressive, energizing attitudes. An explosion of forms which, while remaining figurative, raise questions. Music constantly present, both in certain scenes and in their pictorial treatment. A joy for the eye and a reflection for the mind.

bottom of page

top of page
Création

Création

Le Vibrationnisme

      Au début de ma carrière, j’étais peintre paysagiste. En 1983, alors que je peignais à l’extérieur par un temps assez froid, ma main a tremblé et j’ai placé quelques coups de pinceau aux mauvais endroits, produisant un effet de vibration. Pendant les cinq années suivantes, j’ai accentué cet effet et j’ai ainsi créé le « vibrationnisme ».

François Faucher

1983

Début de la déformation périphérique du sujet

François Faucher déforme le contour du sujet et crée ainsi un effet de vibration qui se retrouve dans tous ses tableaux, de façons variées. Le coup de pinceau se modifie et donne une dimension différente aux sujets traités.

1986

Déformation du sujet

lui-même

Apparition de personnages filiformes. François Faucher introduit un deuxième niveau de déformation dans le vibrationnisme, qui consiste à modifier la forme du sujet lui-même.

1988

Ajout des éléments détachés

François Faucher ajoute des formes qui se détachent des personnages ou des objets traités. Ces éléments sont placés en respectant l'équilibre du sujet et la composition globale du tableau.

Définition

Définition

Le vibrationnisme se définit comme une forme d’art qui consiste à donner à l’observateur l’impression que le tableau qu’il regarde, vibre. Ce style, caractérisé par des effets de tremblement et de vibration, est créé par la déformation périphérique du sujet et l’ajout d’éléments détachés. L’utilisation de couleurs et de matière appropriées contribue aussi à donner cet effet de vibration.

Évolution

Évolution

De 1976 à aujourd'hui

fabrication d'une oeuvre

Fabrication d'une oeuvre

Vue par les critique d'art

Vu par différents critiques d'art

Isabelle Gauthier

Danse chromatique François Faucher

Magazin’Art, Juin 2017, p.48-51

Montréal, Qc.

Telle une envolée lyrique, les toiles de François Faucher se distinguent par leur intensité pigmentaire et l’organisation spatiale des éléments figuratifs. Unique en son genre, l’œuvre résolument pimpante semble détenir sa propre trame musicale. Ce rapprochement avec l’art musical s’explique par la technique inventée par l’artiste pour incorporer un effet vibratoire aux éléments du tableau. L’ambiance qui en résulte en est une de mouvement, de chaleur vivante. 

Solange Rilos Letourneur

Fondatrice et Présidente de "l'Organisation de la musique en entreprise"

Texte de ome-musique.com  2016

Versailles, France

L’OME reconnaît officiellement le « vibrationnisme » de François Faucher.

Pour l’artiste-peintre québécois François Faucher, violoniste de formation, la musique propose des motifs nouveaux que l’artiste ne se lasse pas de peindre et qui lui permettent de renouveler sa peinture, en développant et élargissant ses champs de recherche, en explorant un nouveau domaine artistique : « le vibrationnisme ». 

Sur la toile, croches, trilles et harmoniques émaillent les touches rondes ou carrées, les virgules et les glacis de François Faucher. Peu d’artistes peintres ont, comme lui, le sentiment des choses musicales. Son indépendance d’esprit alliée à sa technique rendent le son de la vie tout à la fois apaisant et puissant. 
Musique et peinture vont ici de pair, sur le modèle des concerts et des récitals qu’il représente si souvent. Modelée par la virtuosité du soliste ou de l’orchestre, la musique procure à l’artiste, en quête perpétuelle d’idées et de nouvelles manières d’aborder la peinture, matière à de nombreux sujets, les musiciens sont pour lui un trésor inépuisable.

Ses tableaux témoignent toujours d’une recherche sur les effets de son, tout en étant fortement marquée par un travail sur le contraste des couleurs. De nombreux critiques d’art ne s’y sont pas trompés, qui ont couvert ses œuvres d’éloges.

L’OME a choisi François Faucher pour la représenter picturalement car sa palette n’a pas sa pareille pour capturer sons et vibrations, mêlées en une vraie énergie à diffuser par la musique en «harmonique» avec la peinture.

L’OME se donne la capacité de faire reconnaître le vibrationnisme de François Faucher aux entreprises.

Nous choisissons François Faucher comme "peintre officiel" de l'OME.

Dominic Villeneuve

François Faucher Quand le mouvement du vibrationnisme rencontre

la liberté de l’abstraction

Magazin’Art, Automne 2013, p.42-44

Montréal, Qc.

[…] l’instigateur du courant vibrationniste se dévoile avec des œuvres abstraites et force est de constater que sa signature si distinctive est toujours au rendez-vous. […] Outre le vibrationnisme, une constante demeure dans le travail de figuration ou d’abstraction de François Faucher : l’utilisation de couleurs chaudes, réconfortantes. Tout de suite l’amateur d’art se sent  enveloppé d’un éclairage subtil tandis que « vibrent » sous ses yeux des jeux d’ombres et de lumière, accentués par le relief de la peinture à l’huile.

Jean-Louis Avril

Zoom sur l’imaginaire du peintre François Faucher

Univers des arts, Juillet 2012, p.2

Paris, France

Sous le regard du spectateur, la toile entre en osmose sous la lumière éclatée et la déformation allégorique de son thème préféré : l’univers musical, les musiciens, leurs instruments, désarticulés au rythme fortissimo d’un humour aussi sensible que jubilatoire.

Sylvie Laberge

François Faucher Vibrations positives

Sofadéco, Hors Série 2012,  p.244-245

Québec, Qc.

Son style, qu’il a baptisé « vibrationnisme », ne s’inspire d’aucune autre technique. Les traits sont gras, droits, noirs et… vibrants! Les personnages sont simples mais expressifs, et les couleurs, chaudes, vives et appliquées avec brio. Elles produisent une impression de feu qui couve.

Geoffroy Dalle

François Faucher et le vibrationnisme

Magazin’Art, Printemps 2006, p.116-119

Montréal, Qc.

Couleur, mouvement, chaleur, émotion, passion, vibrations! Ces quelques mots décrivent bien l’état d’esprit avec lequel François Faucher aborde une toile. Ces mêmes mots résument aussi pour lui l’essence du vibrationnisme, cette technique qu’il a découverte alors qu’il peignait en extérieur par un jour de grand froid.

Jules Arbec

Espaces vibratoires

Parcours, Printemps 2001, p.39-41

Montréal, Qc.

Le mouvement est le point de départ et le moteur de toute sa démarche. Si certains artistes empruntent à leur environnement immédiat les formes et les objets qu’ils représenteront, Faucher tire d’abord de son imagination les divers éléments qui animeront son espace pictural. Son intervention créatrice se situe dans ce passage de l’imaginaire à la réalité.

Rosette Pipar

L’univers vibrant de François Faucher…

Le Collectionneur, Mai 1996, p.32–36

Montréal, Qc.

Alors que le premier regard confirme une impression de mouvement hypnotisant généré par l’éclatement de la couleur, on reconnaît toutefois l’âme de l’architecte en filigrane. L’ensemble est construit par l’application de larges touches de couleur et rejoint d’avantage l’esprit des impressionnistes, laissant transparaître l’âme expressive du sujet, le poussant à s’évader et s’échapper de sa forme pure. Des contrastes étonnants, obtenus par une certaine gestuelle qui, au premier abord, peut sembler un peu brutale, rivalisent d’audace et imprègnent l’ensemble de la toile d’un souffle aérien, lui conférant une vie dont les palpitations dansent la démesure.

Raymond Bernatchez

François Faucher : Des tableaux… much music

La Presse, 14 mai 1994, p.E7

Montréal, Qc.

Définir le vibrationnisme, donc sa manière, n'est pas chose aisée. Ces œuvres contiennent à la fois des éléments de figuration (ses sujets lui sont inspirés par les gens et les objets qui font partie de son cadre de vie) mais ils s'insèrent dans un contexte abstractif [...] les contours des personnages et des objets étant non seulement flous mais déformés comme pourrait l'être une image télévisuelle si les ondes étaient brouillées par un quelconque phénomène électromagnétique. L'image fixe semble vibrer effectivement et la superposition ainsi que la juxtaposition des couleurs y sont évidemment pour quelque chose. Faucher texture la surface à la spatule et applique ensuite ses couleurs par "plaques" en utilisant un pinceau.

Paul Gladu

François Faucher : Un temps fort de la peinture

Magazin’Art, Automne 1993, p.70-72

Montréal, Qc.

Les œuvres de Faucher sont reconnaissables à sa tendance à déformer les formes de manière très particulière. Parfois, elles sont allongées, parfois raccourcies, souvent coupées et floues. Cette vision très personnelle a une source intéressante. Une fois, en peignant à l'extérieur en hiver, sa main tremblait et l'image résultante suggérait un type de transposition. Depuis, il reproduit cet effet qu'il appelle vibrationnisme à l'intérieur dans le chaud.

Jorge Santiago

Francois Faucher : A painter of incandescent joyfulness

Artspeak, October 1993, p.5

New York, NY

Faucher […] qualifie son style de vibrationnisme, et le nom est en effet approprié: il crée le sens réel d'une vibration à travers l'éclat chromatique de ses couleurs, surtout lorsqu'il ajoute une qualité d'incandescence en éclairant ses scènes à la chandelle […] Les figures et les objets sont fortement stylisés à la manière carrément simplifiée de Faucher et des particules de pigment flottant dans l'air, comme des confettis, donnent à l'image un sentiment de décomposition, comme si la matière était légèrement fragmentée par la mémoire.

Alexandra Shaw

The whimsical, lyrical works of Francois Faucher

Manhattan Arts International, Summer 1993, p.12

New York, NY

Lyriques et fantaisistes, les peintures de Faucher éclatent avec un miroitement évanescent de formes fragmentées. Dans ces œuvres, les frontières sont brisées et l'univers est composé d'une masse de vibrations aux couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel. La peinture se transforme comme par magie en une danse cérébrale complexe. Les peintures capturent souvent un moment autrement ordinaire dans le temps, avec un plaisir visuel et un humour extraordinaire ...

Palmer Poroner

Francois Faucher presents his “Vibrationism” to New York

Artspeak, Summer 1993, p.3

New York, NY

Faucher présente une image figurative, mais on ne la considère jamais comme une figure ou une abstraction. Ce sont des images qui sortent de son esprit. Il ne prend pas d'images de la vie pour ensuite abstraire ou supprimer les éléments non essentiels. Il commence par une image simple qui représente un esprit ou une humeur et l'exprime ensuite directement à partir de son sentiment. Ces images sont la version émotionnelle de la réalité. Ce que François Faucher voit dans la vie, c'est sa propre énergie sans bornes. Il suralimente ses personnages ou natures mortes pour qu'ils paraissent transfigurés.

Patrick Loze

François Faucher : De la structure au « vibrationnisme »

Magazine Parcours, Été 1992, p.54

Montréal, Qc.

Au début de sa carrière d’artiste, il s’enferma trois ans, se coupant de presque tout jusqu’à la limite de la retraite fermée et il s’évertua à tenter de démasquer son style de toutes les tendances  connues par le vibrationnisme, qui serait donc né en 1983. […] Le résultat en sera un effet très fort de vibration issue du travail  sur la forme et la couleur. […] « Le vibrationnisme est avant tout l’expression du mouvement général à travers l’harmonie qu’il crée. » […] l’œuvre de François Faucher n’en est pas une de provocation. Son but personnel est de communiquer, de transmettre ses émotions.

Jacques de Roussan, a.i.c.a.

François Faucher : Vibrationnisme

Montréal, Qc.

La lumière règne en maître dans l’œuvre de François Faucher. Sous plusieurs aspects. Des vibrations partout, tant dans la couleur que dans la forme. Une palpitation aussi bien objective que subjective des éléments du tableau. Le fond est plus qu’un support, il est partie intégrante de la composition. Un ruissellement chromatique et formel, souligné par l’intensité des personnages, des compositions florales et des natures mortes. Des attitudes expressives, dynamisantes. Un éclatement de formes qui, tout en restant figuratives, suscitent des interrogations. Une musique sans cesse présente, tant dans certaines scènes que dans leur traitement pictural. Une joie pour l’œil et une réflexion pour l’esprit.

bottom of page